Random Recipes – Dan Lepard & Richard Whittington’s Parmesan Biscuits

Posted on November 1, 2011

0


I’m late, I’m so late in posting this that I even debated writing this at all. Yet here I am so hopefully Dom will forgive me. The last couple of weeks have been a bit crazy, things are changing at a speed I find hard to comprehend. The company I work for are opening a new restaurant, through some act of god I’m it’s pastry chef. It’s amazing & overwhelming all at once. We’ve never had deserts before so there is no one to guide me, no one to tell me how to do what I do on a commercial-scale. This is my baby & it is consuming me to the point obsession. For the last 2 weeks we’ve been developing the menu, every night I go to bed knackered & dream of pie crusts, fillings, tweaks to recipes. It’s an incredible opportunity which I’m embracing wholeheartedly but it’s terrifying at the same time. So you’ll have to forgive me if in the short term blogging falls by wayside.

For this months Random Recipes challenge Dom assigned us all partners, I think this cunning tactic was instigated to prevent cheating. My partner was Jean from Baking in Franglais, who is lovely & extraordinarily patient. At the time I owned 71 cookbooks but omitted 4 because they are purely meat & with Björn gone there was no one to eat the dishes I can’t. That’s not to say that I completely eliminate the chances of getting a meat dish, most of my books are on baking but the remainder are all mixed with the exception of 2 which are purely vegetarian. I sent over the number & held my breath whilst I waited for the results of recipe roulette. Jean choose 12, which is Exceptional Cakes by Dan Lepard & Richard Whittington. Well that wasn’t too scary, I’ve cooked quite a lot of recipes from that book so I emailed Jean the total number of pages & the page numbers for the recipes I’d already made. She then choose page 99, which it turns out isn’t a recipe, so I sent back the 2 closest recipes & she choose Parmesan Biscuits. See what I mean about patient?

This recipe has been removed at the authors request.

